It’s a dangerous world out there, and workers in virtually every industry confront a variety of hazards every day. When an accident does happen, filing a claim for workers’ compensation is probably the last thing on your mind.
Unfortunately, Kentucky has some pretty strict time limits that you have to follow if you want your injuries to be treated through workers’ compensation and to have any hope of receiving fair compensation. If you’ve been injured on the job, keep these points in mind:
- You are expected to notify your employer as promptly as possible. While it’s understandable that you will see to your medical care first, any unnecessary delay reporting your injury or illness can cast doubt on the veracity of your claim and give your employer an excuse to deny it.
- You have a maximum of two years to file for most work-related injuries. In the case of occupational diseases, you generally have three years to file after your diagnosis or whenever your symptoms were “sufficient to inform” you of the disease — whichever comes first.
- There are some exceptions. Special rules apply to workplace-acquired AIDS, asbestos-related diseases and diseases caused by your exposure to radiation.
In addition, if your claim is denied, you only have a short time to file your appeal. Once the Administrative Law Judge has made a decision on your case, you typically only have 15 days to file a Petition for Reconsideration and 30 days to file an appeal with the Workers’ Compensation Board.
If you’ve been injured at work in Kentucky, there’s no time to waste. Even if it takes a significant amount of time for your claim to be resolved because your condition is up in the air, it’s vitally important to make your report and file your claim as soon as possible. If you need help, turn to an experienced legal advocate.